Bob Spink Calls Public Meeting

EventOUR CASTLE POINT MP, Bob Spink, has called a public meeting, in order to answer questions on his Parliamentary allowances and expenses, on Saturday 6th June at 10 am at his Constituency Office: 75 Downer Road Benfleet SS7 1BQ. (At the bottom of Downer Road on the junction of Downer and Bowers Roads).

Bob’s Constituency Assistant, Ashleigh, will be there if you need help or seating.

Yesterday Bob was asked by the Telegraph: ‘You took out a mortgage on your main home and used part of it to buy your flat in London in March 2004. You then claimed the interest on part of this mortgage on your second home allowances. Why did you think this was appropriate?’

Bob Spink, MPBob replied: ‘I used my home as collateral to raise money to buy my work flat. I made no profit and the taxpayer did not loose out in any way through this arrangement. I did this with the knowledge and approval of the fees office and I checked with the Director of Resources today who confirms this. In fact I claimed only £28,000 of the £50,000 mortgage interest costs over the four year period, choosing to spend my work flat allowance on refurbishment and furniture to make it a nice place to stay and to hold important meetings.

‘I work hard and hope my constituents will understand that my work flat helps me to do my job fighting for them.’

The full ‘story’ published by The Telegraph today was: ‘Bob Spink claimed about £25,000 for fees and refurbishment when he bought a flat in 2004. Included was £11,000 decorators fees £3,400 for a leather sofa, £3,000 for carpets and curtains.’

Bob says: ‘This is broadly fair comment; but not totally accurate — and about half the allowance related to the previous year 2003/4 which has not been published for other MPs.’

… (Echo, 04/06/2009) – Castle Point MP claimed £25K for flat refurb

… (Echo, 06/06/2009) – Castle Point MP comes under fire from residents

… (Echo, 08/06/2009) – MP says critics threw bricks at summerhouse

… (18/06/2009) – Members’ Allowances Finally Published

