Bandwagon Bob Points To All His Hard Work On The West Wood Campaign

Bandwagon Bob

Bandwagon Bob

AS WIDELY EXPECTED, our local MP, Bob Spink, has been quick to associate himself with the successful West Wood campaign in Hadleigh.

His rushed press release (judging from the grammar) for politics.co.uk says:-

‘I warmly congratulate all the campaigners who signed petitions, lobbied at meetings and put up the window posters. Yet again, working together, we have demonstrated that people power can force good policy from politicians. I am now focussed on my second aim, to ensure the wood is preserved for bio-diversity and kept open for future generations to enjoy.’

Throughout the campaign Bob Spink held high level meetings with the council, Church Commissioners, Councillors, various potential purchasers, and many grass roots campaigners.

Bob is a grateful to the community for working together on this important issue and says:

‘It is important for Castle Point people to stick together to defend our community. The biggest battle is to overall protection of our Green Belt. I urge all grass roots campaign groups to stick together, under the umbrella of the Castle Point wide Save Our Green Belt campaign which I launched three years ago. We must do all we can to defend our valuable green spaces.’

Just been reading the Echo have you, Bob?..

7 Responses

  1. […] … (14/08/2009) – Bandwagon Bob Points To All His Hard Work On The West Wood Campaign […]

  2. “Throughout the campaign Bob Spink held high level meetings with the council, Church Commissioners, Councillors, various potential purchasers, and many grass roots campaigners”.

    Did he? He must have missed me then, and my neighbours, and my friends. And when I spoke to my local councillors it was “Bob who”?

    • Good with words though is our Bob. He carefully says ‘high level meetings’ – the inference being that, if you were not there, it was because you were too low down the pecking order (and will therefore be embarrassed into saying nothing regarding his claims).

      And, of course, ‘high level’ infers that the type of people present would sooner remain anonymous (and he could not possibly break a confidence).

      All that taxpayers’ money on legal advice did not go to waste.

      It is actually the ‘various potential purchasers,’ and the price that the Council was finally forced to pay, because of Spink’s intervention, that interests me…

      • Aint that the truth! The whole purpose of employing an independent sales agent is so that interested parties can compete on a level playing field and not disclose their financial standing or intentions to each other.

        I wonder how much Spink’s intervention has cost the council tax payers? Can they reclaim it through his expenses?

  3. “I am now focussed on my second aim, to ensure the wood is preserved for bio-diversity.’

    What’s that all about then? Does he intend it should become another Kew Gardens? Where has that come from?

    • I think our Bob may be a little confused, Cynical. If you remember, it is Thundersley Common that is an area of Special Scientific Interest. Someone please correct me if I am wrong; but I do not believe that West Wood is.

      As far as I know, the futile battle to retain the oak trees on Thundersley Common (so that its unique flora can suffocate) continues – and that is what he is probably refering to. After all, both areas are well removed from the Parliamentary Village and we cannot really expect him to distinguish between them or know where they are exactly. (Fortunately, our local councillors can and do).

      It may, however, be a little disconcerting to Bob’s mobilised army of greenbelt campaigners to discover that their General apparently does not know what troops he has fighting for him; what the campaigns are about; nor where the battlegrounds are…

  4. Someone please correct me if I am wrong; but I do not believe that West Wood is”.

    You are correct.

Comments are closed.

